roughly, 94fs v3 is ready… roughly

by Aizan Fahri

Over 2 days working relentlessly and caffeinated to get the site done, as far as I could tell the site is ready for the relaunch. It is now presentable with 25 articles were ported into v3 (23 articles from 1994s and 2 articles from NightlyArt Frontier. I already closed down Frontier because 94fs project serves much more clear purpose on its existence).

In this development update summary, I’d be covering the plugins we have activated so far (the list might expand, situational), the taxonomies of the articles and the front-end design.

Plugins

7 core plugins installed so far which are Akismet for spam protection, JetPack for added functionality, MP6 admin back-end UI for more simple dashboard, ShadowBox JS as the image LightBox UI, WordPress SEO by Yoast (because I want to edit the meta and some of the page-based settings), and lastly WP-Optimize to keep the database clean and.. yeah, optimized.

plugins in 94fs

Thanks to JetPack, embedding YouTube Vimeo Flickr SoundCloud and few more online services can be less intimidating then 2 years ago. If you have your own self-hosted WordPress running, consider JetPack, and it’ll help you a lot.

I might include more plugins in the near future, but most of them are situational plugins. Less plugins mean the website uses less resource, less hogging and resource-friendly. We are not on dedicated server environment.

FYI I latched 2 JS libraries to the theme to make the site looks a bit bouncy, namely the jQuery and jQuery Easing (with jQuery NiceScroll activated). I might be looking forward to include jQuery Lazy Load and caching, but again.. those are situational.

Taxonomy

In WordPress, taxonomy is another thing you’d want to consider after publishing your piece(s). Basically, taxonomy is a way to group things together by using the Categories and Tags features on WordPress. As I write this I have created 9 categories (in Blogspot, you call it Label) and I don’t think the list might grow.

the taxonomies of 94fs

As for Tags, some people rampantly use it for SEO purpose but here in 94fs, Tags will be used to indicate something special about the certain specific article(s), as an example all of the 25 articles right now on 94fs are tagged with 1994s because they were originally written on 1994s.blogspot.com. Tags will be used to indicate Event or Special Cause, outside the boundary of Categories (that’s why I said Categories won’t grow.. maybe I think).

Front-End Design: GreenPoint Lab Home Builder

I had my fear towards magazine-based WordPress theme before but I’m lucky because GreenPoint Setting, although quite elaborate like other themes’ setting manager, it is easier to nail down the homepage builder is like tickling cat’s abs without getting any scratch on my wrist. Ok bad analogy.

green point the option

My point here, the homepage builder offers flexibility to sort the homepage by using drag and drop editing style, and it is future-proof. Meaning that if I want to highlight certain categories in the future I can easily do it.

All In All

Can’t wait for people to surge into our website. We redesigned the blog because in our mind, we want to give my pleasure in reading. Next time maybe I’d be covering few CSS hacks. Yeay!

